Submission Guidelines

thumbnail_6955817258284656030

General Guidelines:

We are currently and indefinitely open for submissions of Reviews (collaborative reviews, video reviews, & nontraditional reviews are welcome), Interviews/Conversations, Discussions/Roundtables, & Articles/Essays/Notes/Rants/Lists/Writings related to or following into any of the following categories: Creative Nonfiction, Lyrical Essay, Personal Essay, Literature, Experimental Writing, Small Presses, Translation, Science Fiction, Fantasy, Graphic Novels, Games (Video games, board games, computer games), Science, Digital & Interactive Literature, Travel, the Paranormal, Television, Film, Music, Food, Culture & Art.

For specific and ongoing calls for submissions for curated series and topics, please visit:
Calls for Submissions

We welcome the above, but please don’t see this as a limiting list, rather a starting list of suggestions. If you’re not sure, send us a query. If you have an idea for a column or series, send us a pitch. We prefer complete & finished submissions. Interest in a pitch unfortunately does not guarantee publication.

Reviews can be for books, films, games, or other works, and should be thoughtful, productive, analytical, and engage with the subject.

We ask for exclusive rights to published pieces for a period of two weeks. After that, republishing with attribution is welcome.

We apologize in advance if we are unable to respond to every submission. If you haven’t heard from us in 3 weeks, please assume that we are passing on your submission. This is not because your piece isn’t amazing, nor because we don’t love you. It is because the entropy of the universe has caused us to drown in a void of oblivion that prevents us from replying in assent, proving, once and for all, that everything is upside down.

Entropy is completely volunteer-run and unable to pay for publication at this time.


Submission Guidelines:

  • Please make sure to send your submission to the relevant editor (see the list below).
  • Include the word “submission” in the subject of your email.
  • Include a very brief bio and author photo to help speed up the process.
  • Please send your submission as a DOC or DOCX file. If formatting is important, please also include a PDF.
  • If you have relevant images to accompany your piece, please send those as well. (All pieces accepted for publication will be accompanied by a featured image, so if you have a particular image, let us know.)
  • Also let us know if you have published with us before, especially if submitting to a different section, series, or editor.

Book Review Guidelines:

Please see all guidelines pertaining to book reviews here.


Where to Send Specific Submissions:

BOOK REVIEWS / Dorian Rolston / dorian@entropymag.org

INTERVIEWS  / Andrew Byrds / andrewbyrds@entropymag.org

ARTS/CULTURE / Adrienne Walser / adrienne@entropymag.org

DIGITAL & INTERACTIVE LITERATURE / Justin Petropoulos / justin@entropymag.org

GAMES (Board Games, Indie Games) / Byron Campbell / byron@entropymag.org

GAMES (PC Games, Major Releases) / Eugene Lee / eugene@entropymag.org

COMICS CRITICISM / Maxi Kim / maxi@entropymag.org

COMICS / Keith McCleary / keith@entropymag.org

FILM/TV / Gabino Iglesisas / gabino@entropymag.org

FOOD / Stephanie Tsank / stephanie@entropymag.org

HEALTH / WELLNESS / Ian Riggins/ ian@entropymag.org

MUSIC / Beach Sloth / beachsloth@entropymag.org

FICTION / Laura Vena / laura@entropymag.org

POETRY / Michelle Detorie / michelle@entropymag.org

NONFICTION / CREATIVE NONFICTION / PERSONAL ESSAY / Sara Finnerty, Sylvia Chan / entropynonfiction@gmail.com

 


Please send all other general submissions that can’t be easily categorized, queries, pitches, & questions to Janice Lee (janice@entropymag.org) & Erin Wisti (erin@entropymag.org)


We also have several ongoing series and calls for submissions. Click here to view a list of all open calls at Entropy and Enclave.