Submission Guidelines

General Guidelines:

We are currently and indefinitely open for submissions of the following:

  • Reviews, Collaborative Reviews, Video Reviews
  • Interviews, Conversations, Discussions
  • Any articles, musings, treatises, essays, notes, diaries, rants, lists, writings related to or falling into categories of Creative Nonfiction, Literature, Experimental Writing, Small Presses, Translation, Science Fiction, Fantasy, Graphic Novels, Games (Video games, board games, computer games), Science, Digital & Interactive Literature, Travel, the Paranormal, Television, Film, Music, Food, & Art or other Relevant Topics
  • See our Call for Submissions page for specific calls.

We welcome the above, but please don’t see this as a limiting list, rather a starting list of suggestions. If you’re not sure, send us a query. If you have an idea for a column or series, send us a pitch. We prefer complete & finished submissions. Interest in a pitch unfortunately does not guarantee publication.

Reviews can be for books, films, games, or other works, and should be thoughtful, productive, analytical, and engage with the subject. We don’t love gushing/overly positive reviews nor do we love scathing/overly negative reviews. Analyze, show us something that we haven’t seen before, and back it up. We want to go out on an edge, we want to know what makes this book (or movie or game) sing. Did it strike a nerve, did it evoke memories from a random moment in your life? We love conversation, discussion, critical thinking, genuine opinions, and emotional engagements. Creative and alternate forms of reviews are encouraged. Fluff pieces and recommendations, not so much (unless it happens to be the best fluff piece or recommendation ever). We do not take reviews of self-published books at this time.

We ask for exclusive rights to published pieces for a period of two weeks. After that, republishing with attribution is welcome.

We apologize in advance if we are unable to respond to every submission. If you haven’t heard from us in 3 weeks, please assume that we are passing on your submission. This is not because your piece isn’t amazing, nor because we don’t love you. It is because the entropy of the universe has caused us to drown in a void of oblivion that prevents us from replying in assent, proving, once and for all, that everything is upside down.

You may hear back from us with suggestions for revision. We may really like the piece, but we want to help make your piece shine. If you don’t want suggestions or are adverse to editorial revisions, perhaps the chaos of Entropy is not your choco pie. That’s okay though. Sometimes, we can only watch the brilliant blaze of a hydrogen star from a distance.

Book Reviews:

Publishers & Authors: Interested in getting something reviewed at Entropy? Please email the title, author, release date, and a URL to the book online to out Reviews Editor (alex@entropymag.org) and we will add it to our potential list. You’ll hear from us again only if we’re interested in requesting a review copy.


We also have several ongoing series and calls for submissions. Click here to view a list of all open calls at Entropy and Enclave here.


Where to Send Submissions:

Please send all BOOK REVIEWS and correspondence related to getting books reviewed to Alex Kalamaroff (alex@entropymag.org).

Please send all submissions related to DIGITAL & INTERACTIVE LITERATURE to Justin Petropoulos (justin@entropymag.org).

Please send all submissions related to GAMES (Board Games, Indie Games) to Byron Campbell (byron@entropymag.org) and (PC Games, Major Releases) to Eugene Lee (eugene@entropymag.org).

Please send all submissions related to COMICS CRITICISM to Maxi Kim (maxi@entropymag.org).

Please send all COMICS submissions to Keith McCleary (keith@entropymag.org).

Please send all movie reviews & submissions related to FILM to edward j rathke (eddy@entropymag.org).

Please send all submissions related to FOOD to Stephanie Tsank (stephanie@entropymag.org).

Please send all submissions related to MUSIC to Beach Sloth (beachsloth@entropymag.org).

Please send any link submissions for the WEDNESDAY ENTROPY ROUNDUP to Quincy Rhoads (quincy@entropymag.org).

Please send SHORT FICTION submissions for the weekly fiction feature to Saehee Cho (saehee@entropymag.org).

Please send POETRY submissions for the weekly poetry feature to Michelle Detorie (michelle@entropymag.org).

Please send all other general submissions, submissions in the categories of arts/media/ creative nonfiction/personal essay, queries, pitches, & questions to Janice Lee (janice@entropymag.org) & Erin Wisti (erin@entropymag.org)