Submission Guidelines

thumbnail_6955817258284656030

General Guidelines:

We are currently and indefinitely open for submissions of Reviews (collaborative reviews, video reviews, & nontraditional reviews are welcome), Interviews/Conversations, Discussions/Roundtables, & Articles/Essays/Notes/Rants/Lists/Writings related to or following into any of the following categories: Creative Nonfiction, Lyrical Essay, Personal Essay, Literature, Experimental Writing, Small Presses, Translation, Science Fiction, Fantasy, Graphic Novels, Games (Video games, board games, computer games), Science, Digital & Interactive Literature, Travel, the Paranormal, Television, Film, Music, Food, Culture & Art.

For specific and ongoing calls for submissions for curated series and topics, please visit:
Calls for Submissions

We welcome the above, but please don’t see this as a limiting list, rather a starting list of suggestions. If you’re not sure, send us a query. If you have an idea for a column or series, send us a pitch. We prefer complete & finished submissions. Interest in a pitch unfortunately does not guarantee publication.

Reviews can be for books, films, games, or other works, and should be thoughtful, productive, analytical, and engage with the subject. We don’t love gushing/overly positive reviews nor do we love scathing/overly negative reviews. Analyze, show us something that we haven’t seen before, and back it up. We want to go out on an edge, we want to know what makes this book (or movie or game) sing. Did it strike a nerve, did it evoke memories from a random moment in your life? We love conversation, discussion, critical thinking, genuine opinions, and emotional engagements. Creative and alternate forms of reviews are encouraged. Fluff pieces and recommendations, not so much (unless it happens to be the best fluff piece or recommendation ever). We do not take reviews of self-published books at this time.

We ask for exclusive rights to published pieces for a period of two weeks. After that, republishing with attribution is welcome.

We apologize in advance if we are unable to respond to every submission. If you haven’t heard from us in 3 weeks, please assume that we are passing on your submission. This is not because your piece isn’t amazing, nor because we don’t love you. It is because the entropy of the universe has caused us to drown in a void of oblivion that prevents us from replying in assent, proving, once and for all, that everything is upside down.

You may hear back from us with suggestions for revision. We may really like the piece, but we want to help make your piece shine. If you don’t want suggestions or are adverse to editorial revisions, perhaps the chaos of Entropy is not your choco pie. That’s okay though. Sometimes, we can only watch the brilliant blaze of a hydrogen star from a distance.


Submission Guidelines:

  • Please make sure to send your submission to the relevant editor (see the list below).
  • Include the word “submission” in the subject of your email.
  • Include a very brief bio and author photo to help speed up the process.
  • Please send your submission as a DOC or DOCX file. If formatting is important, please also include a PDF.
  • If you have relevant images to accompany your piece, please send those as well.

Getting Books Reviewed:

Publishers & Authors: Interested in getting something reviewed at Entropy? Please email the title, author, release date, and a URL to the book online to out Reviews Editor (alex@entropymag.org) and we will add it to our potential list. You’ll hear from us again only if we’re interested in requesting a review copy.


Where to Send Specific Submissions:

BOOK REVIEWS / Alex Kalamaroff / alex@entropymag.org

ARTS/CULTURE / Sarah Hoenicke / sarah@entropymag.org

DIGITAL & INTERACTIVE LITERATURE / Justin Petropoulos / justin@entropymag.org

GAMES (Board Games, Indie Games) / Byron Campbell / byron@entropymag.org

GAMES (PC Games, Major Releases) / Eugene Lee / eugene@entropymag.org

COMICS CRITICISM / Maxi Kim / maxi@entropymag.org

COMICS / Keith McCleary / keith@entropymag.org

FILM/TV / Gabino Iglesisas / gabino@entropymag.org

FOOD / Stephanie Tsank / stephanie@entropymag.org

MUSIC / Beach Sloth / beachsloth@entropymag.org

Linksfor the WEDNESDAY ENTROPY ROUNDUP / Quincy Rhoads / quincy@entropymag.org

FICTION / Laura Vena / laura@entropymag.org

POETRY / Michelle Detorie / michelle@entropymag.org


Please send all other general submissions, creative nonfiction submissions, personal essay, queries, pitches, & questions to Janice Lee (janice@entropymag.org) & Erin Wisti (erin@entropymag.org)


We also have several ongoing series and calls for submissions. Click here to view a list of all open calls at Entropy and Enclave.